Waves

Standard

The sunset swallows the blue sky in hazy orange for the last minutes of its reign. The beach goes lazy as swimmers and surfers started to pack up or just chill by the seaside. The sand glows golden. The waves peacefully crashing. Every other thing just in the background.

“Will you come back?” I asked her, caught her staring again at the line where the sky meets the sea. Her beautiful blank face, lit by the sunset, showed either her worrying about what will happen next or just her dealing with plain uncertainty.

“I don’t… I wish, I want to.” She stumbled her words, like the first time we met. At this same beach, at this same time. “I just don’t want this to be over. I wish I could stay with you, be with you every day. But…”

She touched her blue pearl pendant resting around her neck.

I understood. And I also feel the same way about her leaving. The past few weeks has been my best yet. With her. I smiled solemnly.

“You have to go. It’s what brought you here in the first place. If you don’t go back to Deep Atlantis, you’ll lose your halo. You’ll never be an angel anymore.” I told her. I know that being an angel is her life. She devoted her soul to be of service to others as long as she lives. And I don’t want me, a meaningless surfer soul, to be the reason of her downfall. “Besides, maybe you can play your ‘magical’ lyre from there. At least, when I hear it, I know you are still there, reaching me.” I giggled.

She hugged me. Tight.

Her face in my chest. I know she started crying. No, not really crying. Just tears building up on her eyes. She is brave. She won’t cry in my chest. We don’t want that to happen.

I pulled her to look at me, her face cupped in my rough hands. I stared at her teary blue eyes. Her, trying hard not to break apart. Me, trying hard to hold her together. A broken angel never fulfills a duty. She needs to be whole, even if it means me losing parts of her I took.

“I’ll close my eyes.” I told her while remembering every corners of her sun-kissed face. Her eyes. Her lips. Her freckles and all. “I’ll count to ten. Go to the water and be the angel I met the day I died. Be the angel who never refuse to help. Be the angel I’ll always love. Be the angel that you are.”

I was sure she was breaking inside. Her eyes showed it all.

“But, please-” She wanted to say something. Last few parting words, maybe. I don’t want to hear it. She’ll be giving me parts of her again. And I don’t want that to happen. I closed my eyes.

“One…”

She cried. Her tears rolling on her cheeks, down to my hands.

“Two…”

She took my hands off her face and held it like she’ll never hold it again.

“Three…”

She kissed me. A kiss from a sea angel. It was short but I felt the familiar warmth of her lips for one more time. Maybe our last.

“Four… Five…”

She stood up and I felt her slowly walked towards the water. The sands where we sat shifted as her presence left.

“Six… Seven… Eight…”

Waves. All I can hear are the waves crashing back and forth. The same waves I loved. I half-heartedly chuckled to the idea that the waves that brought her to me, are the same waves taking her back. Was she never mine?

“Nine…”

I stopped counting and opened my eyes. I followed her footprints on the sand towards the water, just finding out it has already been wiped away by the sea. Damn it, waves.

I stood there alone, looking at the sunset fading in the horizon.

I whispered. “Ten.”


*jvanooffee

Leave a Reply

